How I Know God is with Us!

I believe in an unbroken chain of faith from God to the Bishop of California to the Rector of St. Paul’s Walnut Creek to St. Timothy’s that is alive in each of us today.

I believe we are called by God to live into the mission of the church by adding our own link in this unbroken chain of faith.  How we do that and when it is accomplished is part of our Vision 2020 discernment process and it will be part of our process for calling a new Rector.

I re-posted a great story in the Contra Costa Times along with one of the pictures from the online edition about the installation of the Bell Tower.

But that is not the best part of the Bell tower story, from my perspective, but it is part of my unbroken chain of faith theory.  I believe one reason I can’t get this concept out of my head is because God is telling me to keep it alive and hold it up for all to see and so I listen with my heart.

Also online was another photo—the one have posted here.  It shows the same scene but the photographer stepped back and in so doing captured Steve Strane standing there watching the process unfold.

This photo speaks to my heart.

There is something poignant about the current Rector preparing to hand over his stole to a new Rector while symbolically installing a bell to call the faithful to worship that is a pure and perfect gift from the first Vicar of a small parish named for a follower of Paul.

This photo is for me a message from God that we should have faith in our unbroken chain of faith.  That God has been with us since Vicar Goodall first prayed for us and He has been with us every step of the way including Steven’s watchful presence at the installation of the bell.

You see it too, don’t you!

God is with us now and always.

Leave a Reply

